Postscript

 

(part one is here)

So.  I was bullied through a small portion of my time in high school.  It had a seriously detrimental effect on how school rolled out for me.  It marked me.  The mark will never go away.  The mark isn’t negative, the way that being bullied was negative.  The mark it left me is like a lens and it’s the lens through which I look at the world.  Yes, sometimes I see things and people that remind me of my bully and yes, sometimes I have a visceral  reaction to them, hating them on sight or being super extra judgemental of them.  That’s the minority of occasions.  The rest of the time, I’m aware of how I am interacting and affect those around me.  I’m carful and as patient as I can be in order to make sure that I never to to other what was done to me.

I survived.  I thrived.  I like who I am now.  I don’t know if this guy is different from who I was on my way to being before high school, but I’m ok with that.

One Reply to “Postscript”

Leave a Reply

