Teachable Moment

Teachable moment
You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

e)  most of the above.

I’m a big fan of looking things up, something that the internet has made even easier.  The thing is I also like seeing things done, something that YouTube has aided greatly.  Hearing about it, not so much as I don’t find people are always able to get the full message across properly – I assure you that the failing is with the person explaining and not with me as the listener.  I love to try things out for myself, although I really like having an idea of what I’m attempting before I try it. 

Aaargh.  I can’t do it.  I’m not loving my teachable moment post.  Here’s the thing, it’s been like four days since I posted anything and nothing has jumped out at me to comment on or rage against or bitch about.  I looked at my blog, I read the blogs of others and felt nothing.  I was really hoping that I’d be moved to write.  Nope.  I spent the morning working with some amazingly obnoxious and difficult kids (always a great source of food for thought), nope.  Then I remembered the Daily Post.  Prompt for today?  Teachable moments.  Sure, I thought, why not?  I’m teachable, I kinda teach.  So I began.  I hated it.  I basically and uncreatively answered the question as if it were a test – minimal effort while trying to make sure the grammar was ok.  Ugh.

The bright side is that hating the post I began gave me an opportunity to bitch and complain and thus the ability to finish this post.  Who knows, maybe I’ll be moved to complain about something again today and then I can pat myself on the back for posting twice in the same day.

Cheers

3 thoughts on “Teachable Moment

Leave a Reply

