Clearly not a fucking problem OR Why I don’t mind being a parent. OR things that make putting up with ridiculous shit ok.

If you’ve read either “What the fuck’s my problem?” or “What the fuck’s my problem? (again)” posts, you know that I’m a parent to an 11 year old girl and that sometimes we struggle.  We’re both a little to reactive at times and stubborn and the kid HATES to be wrong.  It’s not that she so much wants to be right, it just upsets her to know that she’s wrong.  I’d like to share with you something I received from the kid, a few weeks ago, after a particularly challenging parent child moment (this means that she was probably being a bit of an asshole and then I responded in kind).

Apology with translation

No matter how angry and frustrated I get with her (a lot), it’s this shit that reminds me that she is wonderful (and not really an asshole).  She melts me.  When I think about how hard parenting is (really fucking hard), I always have to remember that there are so many amazing things going on and that they outweigh the shitty stuff.  I didn’t feel prepared to be a parent when she was born and to be honest, at some point every day I don’t feel prepared to be a parent.  That’s totally ok.  I’m pretty sure the kid isn’t always prepared to be parented either.

Here's the other side of the note she gave me.
Here’s the other side of the note she gave me.
One thought on “Clearly not a fucking problem OR Why I don’t mind being a parent. OR things that make putting up with ridiculous shit ok.

Leave a Reply

